UK swallowing research group (UKSRG)

Membership

The group welcomes members from all disciplines.

Membership is included in the delegate rate for the UKSRG Conference 2014.

If you would like to become a member, please fill in our membership form and send it to david.smithard@nhs.net.

 

 

 

 

The steering group 2008-2013 comprises:

 

Dr David Smithard

Stroke Physician and Director of R&D, Chairman of UKSRG

East Kent Hospitals NHS Trust

Interests: swallowing control, assessment and treatment post stroke

Tel: +44 (0) 1233 616214

Fax: +44 (0) 1233 616662

david.smithard@nhs.net

 

Dr Paula Leslie

FRCSLT, CCC-SLP

Associate Professor, Communication Science and Disorders

Specialist Advisor (Swallowing Disorders) RCSLT

University of PittsbuPittsburgh

4033 Forbes Tower

Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Tel: (+1) 412-383-6748

Fax: (+1) 412-383-6555

 

Interests: swallow assessment and reliability, ageing swallow, ethics and decision making in vulnerable groups and at end of life

pleslie@pitt.edu

 

Susan McGowan

Clinical Specialist Speech and Language Therapist

National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery

Queen Square, London WC1N 3BG

Tel:+44 (0) 845 1555 000 ext

Fax:+44 (0) 207 813 0924

susan.mcgowan@uclh.nhs.uk

 

Annie Aloysius

Clinical Specialist Speech and Language Therapist

Imperial College NHS Trust and Great Ormond Street Hospital, London

Interests: paediatric feeding and swallowing, videofluoroscopy, neuromuscular disorders and neonatal care including feeding the preterm infant

annie.aloysius@imperial.nhs.uk

 

Pippa Hales

Lead Speech and Language Therapist

Papworth Hospital, Cambridge

Interests: Dysphagia related to acute and chronic chest conditions. Dysphagia related to cardiac conditions.

pippa.hales@nhs.net

 

 

Dr Emilia Michou

D421 Clinical Sciences Building

Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust

Stott Lane, M6 8HD

Tel: +44 (0) 1612061510

emilia.michou@manchester.ac.uk

Interests: swallowing neurophysiology, neuroplasticity and dysphagia, rehabilitation, compensation in swallowing impaiments, videofluoroscopy, Stroke and Parkinson's Disease, speech, cleft and lip palate.

 

Dr Satish Mistry

A109 Clinical Sciences Building

Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust

Stott Lane, M6 8HD

Tel: +44 (0) 1612064419

satish.mistry@manchester.ac.uk
 

Celia Harding

Senior Lecturer in Communication Disabilities,

Department of Language and Communication Science,

City University,

Northampton Square,

London

EC1V 0HB

Interests: paediatric dysphagia, neonatal feeding

C.Harding@city.ac.uk

 

Sarah Wallace

Senior Specialist Speech and Language Therapist

University Hospital of South Manchester

Wythenshawe

Interests:Critical care, Burns and the use of FEES in dysphagia management

Sarah.Wallace@UHSM.NHS.UK